Fast-Start Financing: Forests and Agriculture Initiatives

Through its fast-start financing contribution, Canada works with its international partners to address the problem of deforestation and forest degradation and provide technical and financial assistance to least developed countries.

Funding Recipient/Project: Forest Carbon Partnership Facility – Readiness Fund
Canada’s Contribution: $40 million
Funding Period: 2010/11
Targeted Country/Region: Multiple
Project Description: The Forest Carbon Partnership Facility (FCPF) is a World Bank-managed facility created in 2008 to assist developing countries in their efforts to Reduce greenhouse gas Emissions from Deforestation and forest Degradation plus improve conservation, sustainable management of forests and enhancement of forest carbon stocks (REDD+). In addition to financial assistance, the FCPF builds capacity to understand and address REDD+ issues, and engages in REDD+ readiness planning.

Canada provided $40 million in fast-start financing to the Readiness Fund of the FCPF to support REDD+ country participants to build national capacity to address the problem of deforestation and forest degradation. The Readiness Fund provides technical and financial assistance to countries in the development of their Readiness Plan Idea Notes and their subsequent Readiness Preparation Plans (R-PPs).

Results Achieved to Date: As of April 2012, the FCPF had provided technical and financial assistance to 35 out of 37 REDD+ country participants. The FCPF Participants Committee, in which Canada participates, has reviewed and approved a total of 19 R-PPs, three of which are at the grant agreement stage, the value of which are each between $3.4-3.6M.


Funding Recipient/Project: Forest Carbon Partnership Facility – Carbon Fund
Canada’s Contribution: $5 million
Funding Period: 2011/12
Targeted Country/Region: Multiple
Project Description:  The Forest Carbon Partnership Facility (FCPF) is a World Bank-managed facility created in 2008 to assist developing countries in their efforts to Reduce greenhouse gas Emissions from Deforestation and forest Degradation plus improve conservation, sustainable management of forests and enhancement of forest carbon stocks (REDD+). In addition to financial assistance, the FCPF builds capacity to understand and address REDD+ issues, and engages in REDD+ readiness planning.

To complement its investment in the Forest Carbon Partnership Facility Readiness Fund,  Canada provided $5 million to the Carbon Fund to assist developing countries reduce greenhouse gas emissions from deforestation and forest degradation.

Results Achieved to Date: The World Bank is currently putting into place a governance structure for the Carbon Fund.


Funding Recipient/Project: Congo Basin Forest Fund - Protecting the Congo Basin Forest
Canada’s Contribution: $20 million
Funding Period: 2011/12
Targeted Country/Region: Central Africa
Project Description: The Congo Basin in Central Africa is home to one-quarter of the world’s tropical forests. This vast area is critical for regional and global ecological services as it acts as a carbon sink and catchment basin. The Congo Basin countries are the home to nearly 100 million people, of which some of the world’s poorest people, many of whom depend on the forest for their livelihoods. As such, sustainable management of the Congo Basin is key to improving living conditions while minimizing the impact on the local and global environment.
Results Achieved/Expected: Canada committed $20 million to the Congo Basin Forest Fund (CBFF) to help local communities in forest zones secure sustainable livelihoods and reduce greenhouse gas emissions, therefore alleviating poverty while maximizing carbon storage.


Funding Recipient/Project: Congo Basin Forest Partnership Facilitation
Canada’s Contribution: $2 million
Funding Period: 2011/12 and 2012/13
Targeted Country/Region: Central Africa
Project Description: The Congo Basin in Central Africa is home to one-quarter of the world’s tropical forests. This vast area is critical for regional and global ecological services as it acts as a carbon sink and catchment basin. The Congo Basin countries are the home to nearly 100 million people, of which some of the world’s poorest people, many of whom depend on the forest for their livelihoods. As such, sustainable management of the Congo Basin is key to improving living conditions while minimizing the impact on the local and global environment. As a compliment to its investment in the Congo Basin Forest Fund, Canada is providing another $2 million to support technical assistance to working groups on climate change, forestry governance, biodiversity, and desertification in the Congo Basin region through the Congo Basin Forest Partnership (CBFP) Facilitation.
Results Achieved/Expected: The Congo Basin Forest Partnership (CBFP) Facilitation initiative will be implemented over 2 years. It will allow Canada, as the current facilitator of the CBFP (2010-2012), to provide additional support for technical assistance to working groups on climate change, forestry governance, biodiversity, and desertification. The selection process for partners and beneficiaries (working groups on climate change, forestry governance, biodiversity, and desertification) is currently underway.


Funding Recipient: World Bank BioCarbon Plus Fund
Canada’s Contribution: $4.5 million
Funding Period: 2011/12
Targeted Country/Region: Multiple countries and regions
Project Description: Canada’s fast-start financing provided to the World Bank BioCarbonplus Fund supports capacity building and technical assistance to BioCarbonplus Fund projects on forests and agriculture. Specifically, BioCarbonplus activities build capacity to facilitate and develop projects that contribute to reduced greenhouse gas emissions, improved quality of life for local communities and strengthened poverty alleviation efforts. 
Results Achieved to Date: Since Canada's fast-start financing contribution to the fund, the BioCarbon Plus Fund has achieved several results. These important developments will support climate change efforts in the forestry and agricultural sectors:  

  • the development of tools to improve the monitoring of afforestation and reforestation projects;
  • the delivery of a workshop for African agriculture negotiators interested in promoting eligible land-use activities; and,
  • the publication of documented lessons learned from past projects.
Date modified:

Financement accéléré : Initiatives dans les domaines de la foresterie et de l’agriculture

Par l’entremise de son financement accéléré, le Canada collabore avec ses partenaires internationaux pour aborder le problème de la déforestation et de la dégradation des forêts, et propose une aide financière aux pays les moins développés.

Bénéficiaire du financement / projet : Fonds de partenariat pour le carbone forestier (FPCF) – Fonds de préparation
Contribution du Canada : 40 millions de dollars
Période de financement : 2010-2011
Pays/région cible : Multiple
Description du projet : Créé en 2008, le FPCF est un fonds géré par la Banque mondiale dont l’objectif est d’aider les pays en développement dans leurs efforts pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre découlant de la déforestation et de la dégradation des forêts et pour améliorer la conservation, la gestion durable des forêts et les stocks de carbone forestier (REDD+). En plus d’offrir une aide financière, le FPCF renforce la capacité, afin de comprendre et d’aborder les enjeux REDD+, et d’assurer la planification de la préparation REDD+.

Afin d’appuyer les pays participant à REDD+ pour qu’ils renforcent leur capacité nationale à lutter contre la déforestation et la dégradation des forêts, le Canada a fourni 40 millions de dollars en financement accéléré au Fonds de préparation du FPCF. Ce dernier permet d’offrir une aide technique et financière aux pays pour qu’ils créent des notes d’idées sur le plan de préparation et leurs plans de préparation qui en découlent.

Résultats obtenus jusqu’à maintenant : En avril 2012, le FPCF avait offert une aide technique et financière à 35 des 37 pays participant à REDD+. Le comité des participants au FPCF, auquel le Canada participe, a examiné et approuvé un total de 19 plans de préparation. De ce nombre, trois en sont à l’étape des accords de subvention dont la valeur de chacun varie entre 3,4 et 3,6 millions de dollars.


Bénéficiaire du financement / projet : Fonds de partenariat pour le carbone forestier (FPCF) – Fonds pour le carbone
Contribution du Canada : 5 millions de dollars
Période de financement : 2011-2012
Pays/région cible : Multiple
Description du projet : Créé en 2008, le FPCF est un fonds géré par la Banque mondiale dont l’objectif est d’aider les pays en développement dans leurs efforts pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre découlant de la déforestation et de la dégradation des forêts et pour améliorer la conservation, la gestion durable des forêts et les stocks de carbone forestier (REDD+). En plus d’offrir une aide financière, le FPCF renforce la capacité, afin de comprendre et d’aborder les enjeux REDD+, et d’assurer la planification de la préparation REDD+.

En plus de son investissement dans le Fonds de préparation du FPCF, le Canada a versé cinq millions de dollars au Fonds pour le carbone afin d’aider les pays en développement à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre découlant de la déforestation et de la dégradation des forêts.

Résultats obtenus jusqu’à maintenant : La Banque Mondiale veille présentement à mettre la structure de gouvernance du Fonds en place.


Bénéficiaire du financement / projet : Fonds forestier du bassin du Congo - Protéger la forêt du bassin du Congo
Contribution du Canada : 20 millions de dollars
Période de financement : 2011-2012
Pays/région cible : Afrique centrale
Description du projet : En Afrique centrale, le bassin du Congo abrite un quart des forêts tropicales sur la planète. Cette grande région est essentielle pour les services écologiques régionaux et mondiaux, car elle agit comme un puits de carbone et un bassin versant. Les pays du bassin du Congo comptent près de 100 millions de personnes, dont certaines sont les personnes les plus pauvres au monde. Plusieurs d’entre elles vivent de la forêt. C’est pourquoi la gestion durable du bassin du Congo est importante pour améliorer les conditions de vie tout en minimisant l’incidence sur l’environnement local et mondial.
Résultats obtenus/attendus : Le Canada a réservé 20 millions de dollars pour le Fonds forestier du bassin du Congo afin d’aider les communautés locales dans des zones forestières à avoir une subsistance durable et à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, soulageant la pauvreté tout en maximisant le stockage du carbone.


Bénéficiaire du financement / projet : Initiative de partenariat pour les forêts du bassin du Congo
Contribution du Canada : 2 millions de dollars
Période de financement : 2011-2012 et 2012-2013
Pays/région cible : Afrique centrale
Description du projet : En Afrique centrale, le bassin du Congo abrite un quart des forêts tropicales sur la planète. Cette grande région est essentielle pour les services écologiques régionaux et mondiaux, car elle agit comme un puits de carbone et un bassin versant. Les pays du bassin du Congo comptent près de 100 millions de personnes, dont certaines sont les personnes les plus pauvres au monde. Plusieurs d’entre elles vivent de la forêt. C’est pourquoi la gestion durable du bassin du Congo est importante pour améliorer les conditions de vie tout en minimisant l’incidence sur l’environnement local et mondial. En plus de son investissement dans le Fonds forestier du bassin du Congo, le Canada verse une somme additionnelle de 2 millions de dollars pour appuyer l’aide technique offerte aux groupes de travail sur les changements climatiques, la gouvernance des forêts, la biodiversité et la désertification dans la région du bassin du Congo, par l’entremise de l’Initiative de partenariat pour les forêts du bassin du Congo
Résultats obtenus/attendus : L’Initiative de partenariat pour les forêts du bassin du Congo sera mise en oeuvre sur une période de deux ans. Cela permettra au Canada, à titre de responsable actuel de l’Initiative, d’offrir un soutien additionnel à l’aide technique offerte aux groupes de travail sur les changements climatiques, la gouvernance des forêts, la biodiversité et la désertification. Le processus de sélection des partenaires et des bénéficiaires (groupes de travail sur les changements climatiques, la gouvernance des forêts, la biodiversité et la désertification) est actuellement en cours.


Bénéficiaire du financement : Fonds pour le biocarbone plus de la Banque mondiale
Contribution du Canada : 4,5 millions de dollars
Période de financement : 2011-2012
Pays/région cible : De nombreux pays et régions
Description du projet : Le financement accéléré que le Canada consacre au Fonds pour le biocarbone plus de la Banque mondiale appuie le renforcement de la capacité et l’aide technique aux projets de ce Fonds dans les domaines des forêts et de l’agriculture. Plus précisément, les activités du Fonds pour le biocarbone plus augmentent la capacité de faciliter et de créer des projets qui permettent de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, d’améliorer la qualité de vie dans les communautés locales et de renforcer les efforts de soulagement de la pauvreté. 
Résultats obtenus jusqu’à maintenant : Depuis que le Canada a assuré un financement accéléré du Fonds pour le biocarbone plus, ce dernier a permis d’obtenir plusieurs résultats. Ces développements importants appuieront les efforts de lutte contre les changements climatiques dans les secteurs de la foresterie et de l’agriculture :

  • la création d’outils pour améliorer la surveillance des projets de boisement et de reboisement;
  • la tenue d’un atelier pour les négociateurs africains en agriculture s’intéressant à la promotion d’activités d’aménagement des sols admissibles;
  • la publication de leçons apprises documentées tirées de projets antérieurs.
Date de modification :