Fast-Start Financing and Clean Energy Initiatives

Canada’s fast-start financing supports greenhouse gas abatement opportunities and aims at catalyzing private sector financing for clean energy projects. Canada works with the International Finance Corporation (IFC), the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and other partners to achieving long-term financing and mitigation goals. Canada also supports activities to help developing countries strengthen their capacity to implement their obligations under the UNFCCC and works with partner countries to develop and implement Nationally Appropriate Mitigation Actions (NAMAs).

Funding Recipient/Project: Mexico/Peru/Costa Rica - Nationally Appropriate Mitigation Action (NAMA) in the Housing Sector in Collaboration with the Energy Efficiency Exporters Alliance(EEEA)
Canada’s Contribution: $3.5 million
Funding Period: 2011/12 and 2012/13
Targeted Country/Region: Latin America
Project Description: This initiative provides technical and financial support to Mexico, Peru and Costa Rica for the development and implementation of mitigation actions in the housing sector through capacity building, feasibility studies and pilot projects.
Results Achieved/Expected: Once implemented, greenhouse gas emissions from the housing sector will be significantly reduced.  As of May 2012, stakeholder and industry consultation was completed in each country which has led to the development of detailed workplans, terms of reference and project agreements.  EEEA has worked intensively with partners countries to (1) identify partner country priority mitigation actions in the area of low carbon housing; (2) conduct site assessments of existing projects to identify baselines and mitigation opportunities; (3) conduct capacity building workshops to provide training to government, academic and industry stakeholders that will contribute to the project; (4) establish Steering Committee and Issue Area Sub-Committees that have identified the NAMA vision, priority theme areas and commenced a multi-stakeholder consultation to define and evaluate program and policy actions at the national level to achieve low carbon housing; and (5) purchase equipment necessary for demonstration projects that will provide a capacity building opportunity for the projects including monitoring equipment that has been installed in Mexico to begin collecting data for MRV as part of Mexico's NAMA efforts.


Funding Recipient/Project: Mexico/Colombia/Chile/Dominican Republic - Nationally Appropriate Mitigation Action (NAMA) in the Waste Management and Landfill Sector in Collaboration with the Center for Clean Air Policy (CCAP)
Canada’s Contribution: $2.35 million
Funding Period: 2011/12 and 2012/13
Targeted Country/Region: Latin America
Project Description: This initiative provides technical and financial support to Mexico, Colombia, Dominican Republic and Chile for the development and implementation of mitigation actions in the landfill gas sector through capacity building, feasibility studies and pilot projects. 
Results Achieved/Expected: Once implemented, greenhouse gas emissions from the waste management and landfill sector will be significantly reduced. Stakeholder and industry consultation was completed in each country which has led to the development of detailed workplans. CCAP has worked intensively with partners countries to (1) define mitigation actions to take in each established priority area such as reduction of organics going to landfills, composting, increased recycling, flaring or energy recovery of landfill gas, etc.; (2) assess environmental benefits (including GHGE reductions)and other co-benefits; (3) define current prevailing practices in each of the focal areas of the integrated NAMA, (4) define and evaluate the policy actions at the national and local levels, and steps that need to be taken to achieve each action/result; and (5) identify relevant stakeholders who are key to the desired results.


Funding Recipient/Project: Mexico/Colombia – Nationally Appropriate Mitigation Action (NAMA) in the Oil and Gas Sector in Collaboration with the Petroleum Technology Alliance Canada (PTAC)
Canada’s Contribution: $3 million
Funding Period: 2011/12 and 2012/13
Targeted Country/Region: Mexico and Colombia
Project Description: This initiative provides technical and financial support to Mexico and Colombia for the development and implementation of mitigation actions in the oil and gas sector through capacity building, feasibility studies and pilot projects.  Once implemented, greenhouse gas emissions from the oil and gas sector will be significantly reduced.
Results Achieved/Expected: PTAC and its Canadian industry partners conducted several initial technical sites visits to systematically assess historical production accounting and energy utilization data to establish baselines. These holistic energy audits of several facilities in Mexico and Colombia also allowed Canadian expert to screen for potential opportunities to reduce emissions and energy consumption. Canadian equipment and Canada-made software have been deployed and emission baselines have been established for many upstream and downstream oil and gas facilities.


Funding Recipient/Project: Global Alliance for Clean Cookstoves
Canada’s Contribution: $1.8 million
Funding Period: 2011/12 and 2012/13
Targeted Country/Region: Colombia, Ghana, Mexico and Peru
Project Description: This contribution will support the development and implementation of plans and strategies for the deployment of clean cookstoves in key developing and vulnerable countries. It will also support the study and quantification of the benefits of climate-friendly cookstoves, including the development of emissions criteria and standards.                                      
Results Achieved/Expected: Detailed country-specific plans and strategies have been developed for four countries (Colombia, Ghana, Mexico and Peru) to support the deployment of clean cookstoves. The implementation of these strategies will start in 2012-2013. The Global Alliance also held a capacity building workshop in Amsterdam, Holland in February on the development of a globally recognized performance standard for cookstoves and fuel sources.  With renowned experts from all over the world, the Global Alliance started the standards development process supported by field testings, and detailed analyses of data from global testing facilities.  The Global Alliance also held a regional workshop in Bamako, Mali to support the development of its programme in Africa through the Economic Community Of West African States (ECOWAS) forum. A political coup prematurely put an end to the workshop.


Funding Recipient/Project:  International Finance Corporation (IFC) - Canada's Climate Change Program
Canada’s Contribution: $291.5 million
Funding Period: 2011/12 and 2012/13
Targeted Country/Region: Multiple countries and regions
Project Description: As part of Canada’s commitment to support mitigation efforts, Canada provided $291.55 million to IFC to support a broad portfolio of clean energy projects in developing countries. IFC uses this Fund for low-cost financing and grant-based technical assistance to address private clean energy investment barriers, and serves a catalytic role to enable clean energy initiatives to move forward.
Results Achieved to Date: As of March 31, 2012, 62 projects were reviewed by the IFC, with 8 projects approved, representing a total of US$36.4 million in direct project funding from the Canada Fund, levering US$435.3 million in funding from IFC’s core funding and other multilateral development banks, and US$82.3 million in private sector investment in developing countries. It is expected that these projects will lead to 689,000 tons of CO2 equivalent of reduced or avoided emissions per year. A further 30 projects are under development for potential consideration by the Fund.

Date modified:

Financement accéléré et initiatives d’énergie propre

Le financement accéléré du Canada appuie les possibilités de réduction des gaz à effet de serre et tente de favoriser les investissements du secteur privé dans les projets d’énergie propre. Le Canada collabore avec la Société financière internationale, la Banque interaméricaine de développement et d’autres partenaires, afin d’atteindre les objectifs de financement et d’atténuation à long terme. Le Canada appuie aussi les activités visant à aider les pays en développement à renforcer leur capacité à respecter leurs obligations en vertu de la Convention-cadre des Nations Unis sur les changements climatiques, et il collabore avec des pays partenaires pour créer et mettre en oeuvre des mesures d’atténuation nationales appropriées.

Bénéficiaire du financement / projet : Mexique/Pérou/Costa Rica - Mesures d’atténuation nationales appropriées (MANA) dans le secteur du logement en collaboration avec l’Energy Efficiency Exporters Alliance (EEEA)
Contribution du Canada : 3,5 millions de dollars
Période de financement : 2011-2012 et 2012-2013
Pays/région cible : Amérique latine
Description du projet : Cette initiative offre un soutien technique et financier au Mexique, au Pérou et au Costa Rica pour créer et mettre en oeuvre des mesures d’atténuation dans le secteur du logement en renforçant la capacité, en entreprenant des études de faisabilité et en lançant des projets pilotes.
Résultats obtenus/attendus : Une fois que les mesures seront mises en oeuvre, on constatera une réduction significative des émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans le secteur du logement. En mai 2012, des consultations auprès des intervenants et de l’industrie ont été tenues dans chaque pays, ce qui a permis de créer des plans de travail détaillés, des mandats et des accords sur des projets. L’EEEA a collaboré étroitement avec les pays partenaires, afin de : 1) déterminer des mesures d’atténuation prioritaires dans le domaine du logement à faibles émissions de carbone dans les pays partenaires; 2) réaliser des évaluations de site des projets existants pour déterminer les données de référence et les possibilités d’atténuation; 3) tenir des ateliers de renforcement de la capacité pour former les intervenants du gouvernement, des universités et de l’industrie qui participeront aux projets; 4) former un comité directeur et des sous-comités dans le secteur d’intérêt qui ont défini la vision des MANA et les thèmes prioritaires et qui ont organisé des consultations auprès d’intervenants multiples pour définir et évaluer les mesures stratégiques et des programmes à l’échelle nationale de manière à atteindre les cibles de logement à faibles émissions de carbone; 5) acheter l’équipement nécessaire pour les projets de démonstration qui permettront de renforcer la capacité, y compris l’équipement de surveillance installé au Mexique pour commencer à collecter des données de mesure, de production de rapports et de vérification dans le cadre des efforts que déploie le Mexique sur le plan des MANA.


Bénéficiaire du financement / projet : Mexique/Colombie/Chili/République Dominicaine - Mesures d’atténuation nationales appropriées (MANA) dans le secteur de la gestion des déchets et des sites d’enfouissement en collaboration avec le Center for Clean Air Policy (CCAP
Contribution du Canada : 2,35 millions de dollars
Période de financement : 2011-2012 et 2012-2013
Pays/région cible : Amérique latine
Description du projet : Cette initiative offre un soutien technique et financier au Mexique, à la Colombie, à la République Dominicaine et au Chili pour créer et mettre en oeuvre des mesures d’atténuation dans le secteur des gaz d’enfouissement en renforçant la capacité, en entreprenant des études de faisabilité et en lançant des projets pilotes.
Résultats obtenus/attendus : Une fois que les mesures seront mises en oeuvre, on constatera une réduction significative des émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans le secteur de la gestion des déchets et des sites d’enfouissement. Des consultations auprès des intervenants et de l’industrie ont été tenues dans chaque pays, ce qui a permis de créer des plans de travail détaillés. Le CCAP a collaboré étroitement avec les pays partenaires, afin de : 1) déterminer des mesures d’atténuation à prendre dans chaque domaine prioritaire défini, comme la réduction des déchets biologiques envoyés dans les sites d’enfouissement, le compostage, l’augmentation du recyclage, le torchage de gaz ou la récupération de l’énergie dégagée par les gaz d’enfouissement et autres; 2) évaluer les avantages environnementaux (notamment la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre) et d’autres avantages conjoints; 3) définir les pratiques actuellement en cours dans chacun des domaines prioritaires des MANA intégrées; 4) définir et évaluer les mesures stratégiques, et ce, à la fois aux échelles nationales et locales, ainsi que les mesures à prendre pour obtenir chaque résultat ou mettre en pratique chaque mesure; 5) désigner les intervenants pertinents qui sont essentiels pour obtenir les résultats souhaités.


Bénéficiaire du financement / projet : Mexique/Colombie – Mesures d’atténuation nationales appropriées (MANA) dans le secteur du pétrole et du gaz en collaboration avec Petroleum Technology Alliance Canada (PTAC)
Contribution du Canada : 3 millions de dollars
Période de financement : 2011-2012 et 2012-2013
Pays/région cible : Mexique et Colombie
Description du projet : Cette initiative offre un soutien technique et financier au Mexique et à la Colombie pour créer et mettre en oeuvre des mesures d’atténuation dans le secteur du pétrole et du gaz en renforçant la capacité, en entreprenant des études de faisabilité et en lançant des projets pilotes. Une fois que les mesures seront mises en oeuvre, on constatera une réduction significative des émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans le secteur du pétrole et du gaz.
Résultats obtenus/attendus : La PTAC et ses partenaires canadiens de l’industrie ont réalisé plusieurs visites de sites techniques initiales afin d’évaluer systématiquement les données historiques de comptabilité de la production et de la consommation d’énergie, de manière à définir les valeurs de référence. Ces vérifications globales de l’énergie dans plusieurs installations au Mexique et en Colombie ont aussi permis aux experts canadiens d’évaluer des possibilités éventuelles de réduction des émissions et de la consommation d’énergie. De l’équipement canadien et des logiciels fabriqués au Canada ont été déployés. On a défini les valeurs de référence quant aux émissions pour plusieurs installations pétrolières et gazières en amont et en aval.


Bénéficiaire du financement / projet : Global Alliance for Clean Cookstoves
Contribution du Canada : 1,8 million de dollars
Période de financement : 2011-2012 et 2012-2013
Pays/région cible : Colombie, Ghana, Mexique et Pérou
Description du projet : Cette contribution appuiera l’élaboration et la mise en oeuvre de plans et de stratégies concernant le déploiement de fourneaux de cuisine propres dans des pays en développement et vulnérables clés. Elle appuiera aussi l’étude et la quantification des avantages de fourneaux de cuisine respectueux du climat, y compris l’élaboration de critères et de normes relativement aux émissions.                                                   
Résultats obtenus/attendus : On a créé des plans et des stratégies détaillés précis pour quatre pays (Colombie, Ghana, Mexique et Pérou), afin d’appuyer le déploiement de fourneaux de cuisine propres. On commencera à mettre en oeuvre ces stratégies en 2012-2013.


Bénéficiaire du financement / projet :  Société financière internationale (SFI) - Programme des changements climatiques du Canada(en anglais seulement)
Contribution du Canada : 291,5 millions de dollars
Période de financement : 2011-2012 et 2012-2013
Pays/région cible : Plusieurs pays et régions
Description du projet : Dans le cadre de l’engagement du Canada visant à appuyer les efforts d’atténuation, le Canada a fourni 291,55 millions de dollars à la SFI afin de soutenir un vaste portefeuille de projets d’énergie propre dans les pays en développement. La SFI a recours à ce Fonds pour offrir un financement à faible coût et une aide technique prenant la forme de subventions pour surmonter les obstacles à l’investissement du secteur privé dans les projets d’énergie propre. Il joue aussi un rôle catalytique pour permettre aux initiatives d’énergie propre d’aller de l’avant.
Résultats obtenus jusqu’à maintenant : Au 31 mars 2012, la SFI avait étudié 62 projets. De ce nombre, 8 avaient été approuvés. Cela représente un total de 36,4 millions de dollars américains en fonds directs tirés du Fonds du Canada, mettant à profit la somme de 435,3 millions de dollars américains provenant du financement de base de la SFI et d’autres banques multilatérales de développement, et de 82,3 millions de dollars américains provenant d’investissements du secteur privé dans les pays en développement. On s’attend à ce que ces projets permettent de réduire et d’empêcher les émissions de 689 000 tonnes d’équivalent CO2 par an. Trente autres projets sont en cours d’élaboration et pourraient être étudiés par le Fonds.

 

Date de modification :