The Science of Climate Change Presentation 

First Ministers Meeting – November 23rd, 2015

The scientific evidence is clear: climate change is one of the greatest threats of our time. The Government of Canada recognizes that global temperature increases must be limited to at most two degrees Celsius, and Canada’s way forward on climate change is being informed by what the science is telling us.

As part of the First Minister’s meeting on November 23rd, 2015, renowned climate scientists Dr. Gregory Flato (Environment Canada) and Mr. Alain Bourque (Ouranos) led a briefing on the science of climate science with Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Cabinet Ministers, and provincial and territorial Premiers.

Their presentation, which can be accessed from this page, covers several key topics including the climate system, evidence of climate change, the cause of climate change, and future climate projections.

Dr. Flato and Mr. Bourque are only two examples of the world-class scientific expertise that exists in Canada. The Government of Canada takes great pride in the work of all of Canada’s scientists and will continue to feature science work to Canadians.

Date modified:

Présentation : La science du changement climatique

Réunion des premiers ministres – 23 novembre 2015

Les preuves scientifiques sont claires : le changement climatique est l’une des plus grandes menaces de notre temps. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît que l’augmentation de la température du globe doit être limitée au plus à deux degrés Celsius, et que la voie à suivre pour le Canada sera orientée par l’information fournie par les scientifiques.

À l’occasion de la réunion des premiers ministres du 23 novembre 2015, les scientifiques de renom en climatologie M. Gregory Flato, Ph. D. (Environnement Canada), et M. Alain Bourque (Ouranos) ont présenté un exposé sur la science du climat au premier ministre Justin Trudeau, aux ministres du Cabinet ainsi qu’aux premiers ministres des provinces et des territoires.

La présentation, à laquelle vous pouvez accéder sur cette page, traite notamment de plusieurs sujets importants comme le système climatique, les preuves de changements climatiques, les causes des changements climatiques et les projections climatiques futures.

M. Flato et M. Bourque sont deux exemples seulement du vaste savoir-faire scientifique de calibre mondial que possède le Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada tire une grande fierté du travail accompli par ses scientifiques et continuera de faire valoir la recherche scientifique auprès des Canadiens.

Date de modification :